Transifex

  • Documentation
  • Translation Quality Tools
  • Uploading a TMX File

Uploading a TMX File

Note

Uploading TMX files is a feature only available on the Growth plan and up.

TMX (Translation Memory Exchange) is an industry-standard file format for Translation Memory. It lets you move TM data between systems and tools without losing any of your translations. With TMX files, you can, for example, import the TM from a tool you used previously or from any offline translation tool you work with.

Each project in Transifex has its own Translation Memory. To upload a TMX file:

  • From the project navigation in the Dashboard, click on the project you want to import the TMX file to.

  • Click Settings.

  • Click on General in the submenu.

  • Go to the Translation Memory Actions section and click the Import content from a TM… link.

    tm_import.png#asset:3472

  • Select a file from your computer then hit Import.

    upload_tmx_new.png#asset:4552

    If you want to overwrite your existing TM with the contents of your TMX, check the box next to Overwrite existing TM and rebuild it from the TMX file. Since this is a destructive behavior, we recommend reading the next section before proceeding.

What happens when you upload a TMX file

By default, when you upload a TMX file, Transifex adds entries from the file to your existing TM. In other words, the two TMs are merged; existing entries in your TM are not affected. 

As an example, let's say you have a TM with the following entries, where the left column represents your source strings and the right column represents the translations:

  • A → A1
  • B → B1
  • C → C1

And you upload this TMX file:

  • A → A2
  • D → D1

Afterwards, your TM will look like this:

  • A → A1
  • A → A2
  • B → B1
  • C → C1
  • D → D1

Note how both A1 and A2 are now present in your TM. Since A2 is newer, it will be used for Translation Memory Autofill, though both suggestions will be available to translators. If you want to delete A1, you can do so.

However, if you select the "Overwrite existing TM and rebuild it from the TMX file" option when uploading the TMX file, everything in your project's TM instance will be removed and replaced by the new entries after you hit Import.

Your TM will have the same content as the TMX file:

  • A → A2
  • D → D1

In both cases, existing translations will not be affected.